Fort Worth Star Telegram
Bell Helicopter Honors Employees for Innovation
September 18, 2012
  • Share
  • By Bob Cox

    Bell Helicopter has announced that 18 employees have been awarded the 2012 Lawrence D. Bell Pioneer Award for innovation leadership.

    Four teams of Bell employees that received the award to the final round of the competition for the Textron Chairman’s Award for Innovation. The awards are given to employees “whose exemplary innovations have led to significant improvements and directly contributed to Textron’s growth, globalization, profitability or competitive position,” Bell said in a release.

    Winning team innovation projects include:

    Productivity: “Large Cell Composite Core for Next Generation Structure” – Donn Hethcock, Paul Oldroyd, Suvankar Mishra, John McCullough and Michael Mackey

    Service: “Longer Life TT-Strap for Bell 206 Operators” – Tom Reilly, Warren Moseley, Daniel Sottiaux, Carlo Capozzo and Joshua Mochache

    Innovation: “Bell 525 Relentless Cockpit Control System” – Brad Linton, Travis Yates and Chad Haugeberg

    Growth: “407GX” – Clive Davis, Elvis Luis, Tuan Bui, Jonathan Williams and Gordon Mooney

    “We are very proud of our Pioneer Award winners. Without forward-thinking, brilliant minds like these, Bell Helicopter would not be the industry-leader we are today,” said John Garrison, chief executive officer of Bell Helicopter.